The Sherpa Directory Series

European PPA Offtakers

First Edition · SD 01/2027

Who buys power under PPAs in Europe, from whom, where, on what terms and how often — and which law firms, advisers and lenders are named on the contracts.

European PPA Offtakers cover
Type
Directory
Extent
288 pages
Published
September 2026
Geography
Europe
Publisher
Global Infrastructure Sherpa / Sherpa Publishing
Price
$2,995 — single-user licence

Overview

European PPA announcements are public, but they are scattered across company newsrooms, stock-exchange filings and trade press, and they are rarely comparable. This directory brings them into one register so that anyone who sells, finances or advises on power in Europe can see who buys under PPAs, from whom, where, on what disclosed terms and how often.

It covers contracts first announced between 1 January 2024 and 25 September 2026 for generating assets in the EU-27, the United Kingdom, Norway, Switzerland, Iceland, the Western Balkans, Ukraine and Moldova. Corporate and public-sector buyers are profiled; utilities, suppliers and traders that buy to resell are listed separately. The law firms, PPA advisers and brokers, lenders and financial and technical advisers named on the contracts are covered in their own part.

Every term is recorded as it was announced. A term that was not announced is printed as not stated and never estimated, volumes are never converted between MW, MWp and GWh, and a figure announced for a whole plant is never attributed to one buyer. Every contract links to the announcements behind it.

What this edition covers

Five parts. The market in the register — who buys, where, from whom and on what disclosed terms. The directory by buyer sector, in fourteen sector chapters plus utilities, suppliers and traders as offtakers. The same contracts by asset country, newest first. Service providers — law firms, PPA advisers and brokers, lenders, and financial, technical and other advisers, with every contract each is named on and the side it acted for. Rankings and prospect lists — the most active buyer groups, the largest disclosed contracts, the seller league table and repeat relationships, and buyers first seen in the last twelve months. Closes with scope and definitions, a glossary, indexes of buyer groups and service providers, and the sources for every record.

Who this is for

Anyone who sells, finances or advises on power in Europe: developers and IPPs building a buyer shortlist, utilities and traders, lenders and financial advisers tracking who is active, law firms and PPA advisers benchmarking mandates, and buyers comparing themselves with their peers.

What you get

  • Buyer profiles in fourteen sector chapters, with every contract, the notes behind it and the providers named
  • The same contracts by asset country, for sellers and investors who work market by market
  • Law firms, PPA advisers, lenders and advisers: every contract each is named on, and the side it acted for
  • Rankings and prospect lists, including buyers first seen in the last twelve months
  • Utilities, suppliers and traders that buy to resell, listed separately
  • Live source links for every record
  • Independent: not commissioned by any buyer, seller, utility, adviser or lender named in it

Table of contents

  1. Front — Executive summary, the ten findings and how to use this directory: The answer in one paragraph, ten findings with the evidence behind each, and a route through the directory for each kind of reader.
  2. Part I — The market in the register: Who buys power in Europe, where, from whom and on what disclosed terms: sectors and headquarters, asset countries, technology, tenor, structure and disclosure, sellers, coalitions and state schemes.
  3. Part II — Directory by buyer sector: Fourteen sector chapters, from food and retail to data centre operators and the public sector, plus the utilities, suppliers and traders that buy to resell.
  4. Part III — Directory by asset country: The same contracts re-sorted by where the generating asset is — Spain, France, Germany, Italy, Poland, the United Kingdom and the rest — for sellers and investors who work market by market.
  5. Part IV — Service providers: Law firms, PPA advisers and brokers, lenders, and financial, technical and other advisers, each with every contract on which it is named and the side it acted for.
  6. Part V — Rankings and prospect lists: The most active buyer groups, the largest disclosed contracts, the seller league table and repeat relationships, and buyers first observed in the last twelve months.
  7. Reference — Appendices: Scope and definitions · Glossary · Index of buyer groups · Index of service providers · Sources

Research and sources

Every contract links to its sources in Appendix E. Terms are recorded as announced; anything not announced is marked not stated and never estimated. Data as at 25 September 2026.

Licensing

Single-user licence. For use by the named licensee only. Redistribution, resale, posting to shared drives or internal circulation beyond the named licensee is a breach of licence.